From the Beginning (Feat. Lonnie Jordan / WAR)

A 10 track funk album (33m 15s) — released January 26th 2018 on Schema

"From The Beginning" is a heartbreaking soul album that takes you back to the early '70s classic songwriting; it features Lonnie Jordan - founding member, musician and vocalist from the band War - as vocalist and co-writer together with Alex Puddu on three songs on the album: "Runaway Boys", "Nobody" and the sweet groovy ballad "Stormy Weather" are all reminiscent of a soundtrack to a West Coast blaxploitation film.

"From The Beginning" is halfway between the city and the jungle: a catchy conga-fueled adventure that takes you on a latin-flavoured "Ocean Drive" in the vein of Gil Scott-Heron & Timmy Thomas with vocalist Duane Hobson, who also sings on another groovy tune, "Don't Stop Moving".

The third special guest on vocals on this record is Adrian Wilding, on the irresistible R&B/easy mood tune "Here to Stay". On bass guitar, one of Italy's finest session players from the Italian music scene from the seventies: Dino Kappa, known for his collaborations with artists such as Morricone, Trovajoli, Bacalov, Alan Sorrenti, Renato Zero and progressive rock band Libra.

The line-up is completed by:
Massimo Fiorentino - piano and organ
Morten Grønvad - vibraphone and percussion
Mikael Fleron - sax
Hendrik Jørgensen - trumpet
Gavino Congiatta - bass
Alex Puddu - drums, guitars, bass, and additional keys

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.